Skip to main content

Office of the Chief of Naval Operations to Various Commanders of Naval Districts and Flag Officers

OCC 6143

12 Sept. 1918

To: Cmdrs 1 to 8th1 and 15th Dists.2

     Flag San Domingo3

     St. Thomas4

     Brigade Port Au Prince5



     Hines, Halifax.8

The following information reliability unknown has been received by the Department. Quote we have information that enemy agents are trying to bribe the pilots to bring about collision between large ships on their entry in or their departure from port unquote 14012.


Source Note: C, DNA, RG45, Entry 517B.

Footnote 1: That is, Commandants of Naval Districts One through Eight. These commandants in order were: RAdm. Spencer D. Wood, Commo. James P. Parker, RAdm. Nathanial R. Usher, Capt. George F. Cooper, RAdm. Augustus F. Fechteler, RAdm. Frank E. Beatty, Cmdr. Warren J. Terhune, Commo. Valentine S. Nelson.

Footnote 2: The commandant of the Fifteenth Naval District, which covered the Panama Canal Zone, was RAdm. Marbury Johnston.

Footnote 3: The “Flag” at Santo Domingo was RAdm. Harry S. Knapp.

Footnote 4: RAdm. James Oliver.

Footnote 5: Brig. Gen. Eli K. Cole, U.S.M.C.

Footnote 6: Commo. Edward E. Wright.

Footnote 7: RAdm. Edwin A. Anderson, Commander, American Patrol Detachment.

Footnote 8: Capt. Harold K. Hines.

Related Content