Skip to main content

The Navy Department Library

Related Content
Document Type
  • Documentary Histories
Wars & Conflicts
  • World War II 1939-1945
File Formats
Location of Archival Materials

Third Naval District

The Third Naval District, headquartered at New York, New York, was established on 7 May 1903 in accordance with General Order No. 128, signed by Acting Secretary of the Navy Charles H. Darling. Puerto Rico was initially part of the district due to good communications between New York and Puerto Rico. In 1919 Puerto Rico was removed from the district and placed directly under the control of the Chief of Naval Operations. In 1945 the district, still headquartered at New York, consisted of the following geographic areas: Connecticut, New York, the northern part of New Jersey (including Counties of Mercer, Monmouth, and all counties north thereof), and also the Nantucket Shoals Lightship. The Third Naval District was disestablished on 7 October 1976 and functions were transferred to the Fourth Naval District.

  1903-1904 RADM Frederick Rodgers May 1903
  1904-1907 RADM Joseph B. Coghlan October 1904
  1907-1909 RADM Caspar G. Goodrich June 1907
  1909-1910 RADM Joseph B. Murdock May 1909
  1910-1912 RADM Eugene H. Leutze March 1910
  1912-1914 CAPT Albert Gleaves June 1912
  1914-1919 RADM Nathaniel R. Usher September 1914
  1919-1921 RADM James H. Glennon April 1919
  1921-1921 RADM Harry M. Huse February 1921
  1922-1928 RADM Charles P. Plunkett November 1922
  1928-1928 CAPT Frank Lyon February 1928
  1931-1933 RADM William W. Phelps March 1931
  1933-1936 RADM Yates Stirling June 1933
  1936-1936 CAPT Frederick L. Oliver March 1936
  1936-1937 RADM Harris Laning April 1936
  1937-1941 RADM Clark H. Woodward October 1937
  1941-1942 RADM Adolphus Andrews March 1941
  1942-1944 RADM Edward J. Marquart March 1942
  1944-1944 RADM William Munroe March 1944
  1944-1948 RADM Monroe Kelly November 1944
  1948-1952 RADM Walter S. DeLany July 1948
  1952-1956 RADM Roscoe H. Hillenkoetter July 1952
  1956-1958 RADM Milton E. Miles August 1956
  1958-1959 RADM Chester C. Wood February 1958
  1959-1961 VADM Thomas S. Combs June 1959
  1961-1963 RADM George H. Wales June 1961
  1963-1966 RADM Redfield Mason May 1963
  1966-1967 RADM George R. Luker August 1966
  1967-1971 RADM Francis D. Foley September 1967
  1971-1972 RADM John N. Shaffer August 1971
  1972-1974 RADM William M. Pugh II July 1972
  1974-1976 VADM Joseph P. Moorer July 1974

Notes: RADM = Rear Admiral, CAPT = Captain, VADM = Vice Admiral.

The administrative records of the Third Naval District are located in Record Group (RG) 181.2.2 at the National Archives and Records Administration’s Northeast Region, New York City, facility at 201 Varick Street, 12th Floor, New York, New York 10014 (entrance on Houston Street, between Varick and Hudson), telephone 1-866-840-1752 or 212-401-1620.

An unpublished 5-volume administrative history of the Third Naval District during World War II, known as “World War II Naval Administrative History # 110,” is located in the Navy Department Library. It is unavailable for loan and must be consulted in the library. Photocopying of this manuscript is generally prohibited; the use of digital cameras by researchers is encouraged. Permission to photocopy a limited number of pages may be granted by the reference staff, contingent upon the physical state of the item. Any photocopying of this manuscript shall be done under the close supervision of the reference staff. The use of personal scanners by non-library staff personnel must be approved by the reference staff on a document-by-document basis (Reference: Naval Historical Center Instruction [NAVHISTCENTINST] 5070.1C.). When requesting the administrative history, please specify its number. For example: "I'd like to examine World War Two Admin. History #110."

Published: Wed Jun 01 10:39:29 EDT 2022