Skip to main content

Office of the Chief of Naval Operations to Naval District Commandants

D E S P A T C H.




Bureau  or  Office

       Operations      ( Naval Districts)


24514 – 883

 (Class of message)                         June 24, 1918.

     Commandants, First Naval District

                  Second  "       "

                  Third   "       "

                  Fourth  "       "

                  Fifth   "       "

                  Sixth   "       "

                  Seventh "       "

                  Eighth  "       "1

          Do not be influenced by the absence of submarine activity off the coast to relax in the slightest degree the vigilance of patrol comma both surface and air and under water period. Give this immediate attention and impress it on all hands. 11524.


Source Note: Cy, DNA, RG 45, Entry 517B. Document identifier in top left corner: “MEJ.”

Footnote 1: The Commandants, in order, were: RAdm. Spencer D. Wood, Commo. James P. Parker, RAdm. Nathanial R. Usher, Capt. George F. Cooper, RAdm. Augustus F. Fechteler, RAdm. Frank E. Beatty, Cmdr. Warren J. Terhune, Commo. Valentine S. Nelson, and RAdm. Marbury Johnston.

Related Content