Skip to main content

Secretary of the Navy Josephus Daniels to Naval District Commandants



November 18, <1918.>


Commandant, 1st Naval District,

    "       2nd   "       "

    "       3rd   "       "

    "       4th   "       "

    "       5th   "       "

    "       6th   "       "

    "       7th   "       "

    "       8th   "       "

    "       9th, 10th, and 11th Naval Districts, 

    "       12th Naval District,

    "       13th   "       "

    "       14th   "       "

     "      15th   "       "1

              All vessels now under free lease, charter or contract will be returned to their owners as soon as possible under the terms of the various agreements comma except lighters comma barges and tugs period  Mine sweepers will not be turned back until Commandants of Districts are satisfied that necessary mine sweeping has been completed.  11518.


Source Note: Cy, DNA, RG 45, Entry 517B.

Footnote 1: In order and listed by District, headquarters, and commander, these are: First, Boston, RAdm. Spencer D. Wood; Second, Narragansett Bay, Commo. James P. Parker; Third, New York, RAdm. Nathaniel R. Usher; Fourth, Philadelphia, Capt. George F. Cooper; Fifth, Norfolk, RAdm. Augustus F. Fechteler; Sixth, Charleston, RAdm. Frank E. Beatty; Seventh, Key West, RAdm. William B. Fletcher; Eighth, New Orleans, Commo. Valentine S. Nelson; Ninth, Tenth, and Eleventh, Great Lakes, Capt. William A. Moffett; Twelfth, Mare Island, RAdm. Joseph L. Jayne; Thirteenth, Puget Sound, Capt. Robert E. Coontz; Fourteenth, Hawaii, Capt. George R. Clark; Fifteenth, Panama Canal, RAdm. Marbury Johnston.

Related Content