Skip to main content
Related Content
  • Boats-Ships--Submarine
Document Type
  • Finding Aids Glossaries Guides
Wars & Conflicts
  • Cold War
File Formats
  • Image (gif, jpg, tiff)
Location of Archival Materials
  • NHHC

41 for Freedom Submarines

Model of submarine George Washington with side panel removed to show interior compartments and ballistic missiles

Model showing the interior of the first nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarine George Washington (SSBN-598).

From 1959 to 1967, the Navy commissioned 41 nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarines (SSBNs), each capable of carrying 16 Polaris missiles. Known as the 41 for Freedom submarines, these vessels comprised five classes of submarines: the Washington­-class, the Ethan Allen-class, the Lafayette-class, the James Madison-class, and the Benjamin Franklin­-class.

Published: Thu Mar 04 17:38:58 EST 2021