Skip to main content
Naval History and Heritage Command

Naval History and Heritage Command

Related Content
Document Type
  • Ship History
Wars & Conflicts
File Formats
Location of Archival Materials

Ships of the Great White Fleet: From Manila to Hampton Roads

Composition of the fleet during the final leg of the cruise (from Manila to Hampton Roads):

Rear Admiral Charles S. Sperry, commanding

First Division
Rear Admiral Charles S. Sperry, commanding
Second Division
Rear Admiral Richard Wainwright, commanding
USS Connecticut, flagship of the Commander in Chief.
Captain Hugo Osterhaus
USS Georgia, flagship of Divisional Commander
Captain Edward F. Qualtrough
USS Vermont
Captain Frank F. Fletcher
USS Nebraska, Captain Reginald F. Nicholson
USS Kansas
Captain Charles E. Vreeland
USS New Jersey
Captain William H. H. Southerland
USS Minnesota, Captain John Hubbard USS Rhode Island
Captain Joseph B. Murdock


Third Division
Rear Admiral Seaton Schroeder, commanding
Fourth Division
Rear Admiral William H. Emory, commanding
USS Louisiana, flagship of squadron commander
Captain Kossuth Niles
USS Wisconsin, flagship of Squadron Commander
Captain Frank E. Beatty
USS Virginia
Captain Alexander Sharp
USS Illinois
Captain John M. Bowyer
USS Missouri
Captain Robert M. Doyle
USS Kearsarge
Captain Hamilton Hutchins
USS Ohio
Captain Thomas B. Howard
USS Kentucky
Captain Walter C. Cowles


Fleet Auxiliaries

USS Culgoa (storeship)
Lt. Commander John B. Patton
USS Yankton (tender)
Lieutenant Commander Charles B. McVay
USS Panther (repair ship)
Commander Valentine S. Nelson

Source: U.S. Navy Department. Information Relative to the Voyage of the United States Atlantic Fleet Around the World, December 16, 1907 to February 22, 1909. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1910.

Back to Main Page, The Great White Fleet

9 October 1998

Published: Mon Sep 21 09:30:50 EDT 2015