Skip to main content
Related Content
Document Type
Wars & Conflicts
File Formats
  • Image (gif, jpg, tiff)
Location of Archival Materials

Humanitarian Service Medal

a. The Humanitarian Service Medal was established by Executive Order 11965 of 19 January 1977. It is awarded to members of the Armed Forces of the United States who, after 1 April 1975 distinguished themselves by meritorious direct participation in a Department of Defense approved significant military act or operation of a humanitarian nature. It is not awarded for participation in domestic disturbances involving law enforcement, equal rights to citizens, or protection of properties.

b. To be eligible, a service member must meet the following requirements:

(1) Must be on active duty at the time of direct participation in a Department of Defense-approved humanitarian act or operation.

(2) Must have directly participated in the humanitarian act or operation within the designated geographical area of operation and within specified time limits. "Direct participation" is defined as "hands on" activity at the site or sites of the military act or operation. Specifically excluded from eligibility for this medal are personnel or elements remaining at geographically separated military headquarters.

c. The Humanitarian Service Medal is a U.S. service medal and does not preclude or conflict with other service medals or decorations awarded on the basis of valor, achievement or meritorious service.

d. No person will be awarded more than one Humanitarian Service Medal for participation in the same military act or operation; a service star will be worn to denote direct participation in second or subsequent humanitarian acts or operations.

21 June 1998

Published: Wed May 03 12:22:56 EDT 2017