Skip to main content
Related Content
Document Type
Wars & Conflicts
File Formats
  • Image (gif, jpg, tiff)
Location of Archival Materials

Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal

With major worldwide conflicts like World War II and Korea giving way to the Cold War's smaller regional conflicts, the Department of Defense developed the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal to recognize such duty. The medal was authorized through Executive Order 10977 signed by President Kennedy on 4 Dec. 1961 and amplified later by Executive Order 11231 on 08 July 1965. 

The Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal can be earned through U.S. military operations, operations in direct support of the United Nations and U.S. operations of assistance to friendly foreign nations. 

A minimum of 30 days consecutive or 60 days nonconsecutive service is required for the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, unless the full period of an operation is less than 30 days, for which participation for the entire period is required. Personnel engaged in combat or a duty which is equally as hazardous, qualify for award without regard for time in the area. 

Those who qualify for award of more than one Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal are awarded a bronze service star for each successive qualifying period. 

Originally, the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal was designated to replace the Navy and Marine Corps expeditionary medals. This was the case from 1962 until 1978, when the two services' medals once again entered their inventory for service-specific operations. 

More than 20 periods of service have been authorized. A listing of eligible periods of service is found in the Navy Battle Streamer section. 

20 June 1998

Published: Wed May 03 12:13:23 EDT 2017