General Order No. 105

Navy Department,
Washington, March 13, 1869.

[North & South Pacific Squadrons Combined into Pacific Station]

Hereafter the North and South Pacific Squadrons will not exist as separate organizations.

The station will be called the Pacific Station and will extend from the northernmost point of the American possessions to Cape Horn.

There will be two squadrons - the Northern and Southern Squadrons - each under command of a commodore and both under the general command of a Rear Admiral commanding the whole station.

A.E. Borie,
Secretary of the Navy.