The Pearl Harbor Attack, 7 December 1941
U.S. Navy Ships Named for Individual Sailors
to Commemorate their Actions during the Attack

 Ship Name Person Named For Command at Pearl Harbor Award
USS Bennion (DD-662) CAPT Meryn S. Bennion, USN USS West Virginia  Medal of Honor
USS Cassin Young (DD-793) CAPT Cassin Young, USN USS Vestal  Medal of Honor
USS Flaherty (DE-135) Ensign Francis C. Flaherty, USNR USS Oklahoma  Medal of Honor
USS Frederick C. Davis, (DE-136) Ensign Frederick C. Davis, USNR USS Nevada  Navy Cross
USS Herbert C. Jones, (DE-137) Ensign Herbert C. Jones, USNR USS California Medal of Honor
USS Hill (DE-141) Chief Boatswain Edwin J. Hill, USN USS Nevada  Medal of Honor
USS Kidd (DD-661) RADM Isaac C. Kidd, USN Commander, Battleship Div. ONE on USS Arizona Medal of Honor
USS Miller (FF-1091) Ship's Cook 3rd C Dorie Miller, USN USS West Virginia  Navy Cross
USS Pharris (FF-1094) LT Jackson C. Pharris, USN USS California Medal of Honor
USS Reeves (DE-156), USS Reeves (DLG-24) Chief Radioman Thomas J. Reeves, USN USS California  Medal of Honor
USS Ross (DDG-71) LCDR Donald K. Ross, USN USS Nevada  Medal of Honor
USS Scott (DE-214) Machinist's Mate 1st C Robert R. Scott, USN USS California  Medal of Honor
USS Tomich (DE-242) Chief Watertender Peter Tomich, USN USS Utah  Medal of Honor
USS Van Valkenburgh (DD-656) CAPT Franklin Van Valkenburgh, USN USS Arizona, commanding officer  Medal of Honor
USS J. Richard Ward (DE-243) Seaman First Class James Richard Ward, USN USS Oklahoma Medal of Honor

Other Medals of Honor Awarded for Pearl Harbor Attack

LT John W. Finn, USN, NAS Kaneohe - Citation

CAPT Samuel G. Fuqua, USN - USS Arizona - Citation

About Us | Privacy Policy | Webmaster | FOIA request | | This is a US Navy website