Return to DANFS IndexImage of an anchorReturn to Naval Historical Center homepage
flag banner
Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships banner
DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY -- NAVAL HISTORICAL CENTER
805 KIDDER BREESE SE -- WASHINGTON NAVY YARD
WASHINGTON DC 20374-5060

Jade

 

A tough, compact, green gem cut from jadeite or nephrite.

 

(PY-17: t. 582; l. 171'; b. 27'6"; dr. 13'; s. 14 k.; cpl. 26; a. 1 3", 4.30 cal. mg., 2 dct.)

 

Jade (PY-17), a diesel powered yacht, was built as Athero II in 1926 by Geo. Lawley & Son, Neponset, Mass.; later named Caroline, and purchased by the Navy as Doctor Brinkley in December 1940 from Dr. J. R. Brinkley, of Del Rio, Tex. Overhauled and converted for Navy use at Charleston Navy Yard, she was renamed Jade and commissioned at Jacksonville, Fla., 16 March 1941, Lt. Comdr. George L. Hoffman in command.

 

Assigned to the 6th Naval District, Jade performed inshore patrol work until departing Charleston for the Canal Zone 5 May 1941. There she performed patrol duties for Panama Sea Frontier until 11 February 1943 when she arrived Salinas, Ecuador, for transfer to that country under lend lease. After a training period for her new crew, Jade was turned over to Ecuador 24 May 1943.

 

The ship was returned to U.S. custody in exchange for Turquoise (PY-18) 29 January 1944. Arriving San Francisco, she decommissioned and was placed in service 6 April 1944 for use as a hulk at the Dry Dock Training Center, Tiburon. She was eventually placed out of service 30 December 1944, and returned to the Maritime Commission 12 January 1946.